Mid-Season NFL Awards


MVP: Russell Wilson 

Honorable Mention: Patrick Mahomes 

While Russell Wilson has had a couple of games with turnover issues, those shortcomings shouldn’t overshadow what he has done thus far. His 28 touchdown passes lead the league. Through eight games, he is behind Tom Brady in 2007 and Peyton Manning in 2013 for the most touchdowns in that stretch. The Seahawks have scored at least 30 points in seven of their first eight games, and their average of 34.3 points per game represents through eight games since the merger in 1970. Wilson play has also dragged the leagues along to a 6-2 record 

Offensive Player of the Year: Alvin Kamara

Honorable Mention: Dalvin Cook 

Alvin Kamara is averaging 4.9 yards per attempt and ranks seventh among running backs. Overall he leads the league with 1,036 yards from scrimmage. Kamara is averaging 60 yards rushing and 71 yards receiving with 71 receiving yards. Kamara is a touchdown machine with 8 TDs already. Combine the rushing and receiving totals, and his contributions are ridiculous. The dual-threat weapon is on pace for 2,076 yards from scrimmage and 16 TDs. 

Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Donald

Honorable Mention: Myles Garrett

Aaron Donald is tied for the league lead in sacks alongside the Cleveland Brown’s Myles Garrett with nine sacks. He also has 15 QB hits, three forced fumbles, seven tackles for loss, and 41 combined tackles. Donald’s ability to pressure the QB is as good as or better than those of every edge rusher in the NFL. Being able to put pressure on the quarterback from the middle is more disruptive than from the edge. Donald forces teams to have a different game plan than any other team in the league. He sets himself apart also, with his ability to stop the run and forcing teams to pass more. 

Coach of the Year: Brian Flores

Honorable Mention: Mike Tomlin

Miami is giving up just 18.6 points per game; they went from one of the worst defenses to one of the best. The team is allowing opponents to score on a quarter of their drives. At 5-3, the Dolphins sit at the newly formed seven seed for the playoffs. The front office gave Flores a workable roster by spending in free agency. The gamble of replacing Ryan FitzPatrick with #5 overall draft pick Tua Tagovailoa. The change has brought new energy to the offense.

Comeback Player of the Year: Alex Smith

Honorable Mention: Ben Roethlisberger

After 17 surgeries, nearly two years away, and close to death, Smith has returned to the field. While Smith’s play has been subpar, passing for 362 yards with a touchdown and three interceptions, his comeback was never supposed to happen, according to doctors. 


Offensive Rookie of the Year: Justin Herbert

Honorable Mention: Joe Burrow

The LA Chargers quarterback is already demonstrating franchise-level talent in their small sample size of games. Herbert has 17 touchdowns and 5 INTs. While the team is 1-6 under Herbert, it’s no fault of the young QB. The team has been in every game but has heartbreakingly lost all of them. 

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Chase Young 

Honorable Mention: Antoine Winfield Jr

Young leads all rookies in sacks and hurries. While Young hasn’t been the force some thought coming into the season, he still has been the best rookie. He also has been dealing with a groin injury. Overall, Young has 3.5 sacks, 36 combined tackles, 4 QB hurries, and five tackles for loss. 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.