Photo courtesy of USA Today

The NFL has released its list of the greatest players from the past decade, with Tom Brady and Aaron Rodgers selected to represent the 2010s All-Decade team.

Both quarterbacks led their franchises to the top win-loss records last 10 years. Also, both players guided their teams Super Bowl victories in the decade While Brady was a unanimous choice the case can be Rodgers was not the second-best quarterback of the decade. Three other QBs secured their Hall of Fame status and can challenge Rodgers’ spot on the All-Decade team. 

Russell Wilson

Russell Wilson led the Seahawks to a Super Bowl championship in his second season. He followed that up by being one yard short of beating Brady and the Patriots for his second Super Bowl win. Wilson has become one of the most dangerous quarterbacks in the league. His pocket passing and pocket presence have evolved every year.

Since entering the league in 2012, he’s never had a losing season, missing the playoffs only once.  He has uncanny mobility and is the best thrower on the run behind Rogers. The Seahawks built the team around Wilson when the Legion of Boom was still together. Wilson has posted a 9-6 record in the playoffs and has 86-41-1 record in the regular season.

Drew Brees

Four times in the decade, Brees has thrown for more than 5,000 yards for the New Orleans Saints. He owns the most passing record for a career and has the most productive decade by stats in the history of the sport.

Brees threw for more yards, more touchdowns, and had a higher completion percentage than any other quarterback. He led the Saints back to the top of the league in recent years after several seasons lost to the Bounty Scandal. He missed being a Pro Bowl quarterback once. In that season, he had 32 touchdowns and 11 interceptions. Coincidentally, his last Super Bowl victory came in the 2009-2010 season, which does not count for this decade.

Ben Roethlisberger

Ben Roethlisberger may be one of the most underappreciated great quarterbacks in recent NFL memory. He transformed Pittsburgh from a run base offense to one of the most prolific offenses in the league. He passed for more than 5,100 passing yards in 2018.

He led the Steelers to a Super Bowl appearance in a losing effort to Aaron Rodgers. Under Big Ben, the Steelers have been perennial playoff contenders, with six playoff berths since 2010 and not a single losing record. He is top five in every major passing category with 236 touchdowns.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.